On the Blue Sea

On the Blue Sea for mezzo-soprano, flute, violin and prepared upright piano.

Performed by Elizaveta Agladze (mezzo soprano), Tierney McClure (flute), Marienn Sanchez (violin), Alexey Logunov (piano), conductor – Hung-Yuan Cheng,

Winner of Georgina Joshi Composition Commission Award 2023
Date of premiere: 4/4/2023, Indiana University Recital Hall, Bloomington, United States.


April 10th, 2019 became a turning point in history of astronomic observations. In the Event Horizon Telescope (EHT) project’s boundaries the first direct image of a supermassive black hole at the center of Messier galaxy was presented. This image provided a test for Albert Einstein’s general theory of relativity. M 87 black hole is characterized by strongly defined accretion disc which consists of large body of incandescent matter. MESSIER 87 for symphonic orchestra (2020) is based on idea of spinning that chaotically gives birth to tempests, hurricanes, and explosions. It is an approach to this gigantic object through clouds of dust, its close overflight observation and departing back to cold depths of outer space.

The piece MESSIER 87 was premiered on September 15th, 2022, by Saint-Petersburg Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Fedor Lednyov.

Stream for the final round of the XVI Open composers competition named after Andrey Petrov

Alexey Logunov became a finalist of XVI Open composers competition named after Andrey Petrov in nomination “Symphonic music”. It’s final recital will take place at Saint-Petersburg Philharmonia on September 15th at 7.00 PM (Moscow time). Music of six finalists and three pieces at nomination “Young hopes” will be performed by Saint-Petersburg Academic Symphony Orchestra, conductor Fedor Lednyov.
The stream will be available on the website of competition via this link.

Strange dreams

The piece “Strange dreams” was composed for the Ensemble C Barré and premiered at 8th St. Petersburg International New Music Festival “reMusik.org” on 31.05.2021.

This piece explores transition between conditions of being awake and falling asleep. I tried to recreate some thoughts and images emerging at this moment, which are extremely chaotic and elusive. Rhythmic structure is inspired by Myoclonus phenomenon – irregular twitching of muscles when person is falling asleep. This element creates ostinato background for brief phrases and passages, which improvisatory nature reflects the main idea of irrationality and unpredictability of this boundary state of our consciousness.

image credit: Georgia Turner

XI International Young Composers Academy in Tchaikovsky-city

Alexey Logunov will participate as a student in the Eleventh International Young Composers Academy will work from August 30th to September 13rd in Tchaikovsky-city with final concerts in Tchaikovsky (September 13rd, Art Centre) and Moscow (September 15th, the Chamber Philharmonic Hall).
For participation at the Eleventh International Young Composers Academy 152 applications from 49 countries were arrived.
The professors of the Eleventh Academy are the leading composers Philpp Hurel (France), Isabel Mundry (Germany), Blaise Ubaldini (Switzerland). The guests of the Academy are composers Mehdi Hosseini (Iran), Anton Svetlichny, Olga Bochikhina (Russia) and others.